Seat Belt Safety
- Rhode Island’s primary seat belt law is designed to save lives; as such, drivers who do not wear their seat belts can now be pulled over and fined $40 – even if they have not violated any other traffic law.
- Children under age eight (8) years old, less than fifty-seven (57) inches (4 feet, 9 inches) tall and weighing less that 80 lbs. (the maximum weight limit of a booster seat) must be transported in any rear seating position of a motor vehicle and properly restrained in a child restraint system. Failure to do so will result in a hearing in the Rhode Island Traffic Tribunal.
- Children between the ages of 8 through 12 as a passenger in any seating position must be properly wearing a safety belt. Failure to not properly belt such passengers will result in a fine of $40.
Child Passenger Safety
- Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death among children ages 3 to 14.
- Correctly used child safety seats can reduce the risk of death by as much as 71%.
- Approximately 73% of child restraints are used incorrectly or not at all.
The Central Falls Police Department is proud to feature Child Passenger Safety Technicians. Trained to show you how to safely install your child seat and restraints, our technicians work around the clock. Please contact our Traffic Safety Manager, Lieutenant Joseph Tougas at (401) 616-2506 or via email at firstname.lastname@example.org in order to schedule an appointment with one of our technicians.